Revati Nakshatra – 16 40′ to 30° 00′ Pisces

Revati Nakshatra

Revati Nakshatra – Pisces The final nakshatra, Revati, consists of thirty-two faint stars in the southern tail of Pisces, the fish. Being the last lunar mansion, Revati relates to endings, completion and the finality of time. Its symbol is a drum or mridanga which is used to mark time. Revati means “the wealthy” and is usually associated with abundance or prosperity on all levels. It is an auspicious star for spiritual growth and produces great intuitive gifts. The primary motivation of this asterism is moksha or spiritual liberation. It is also associated … Continue reading

Uttara Bhadrapada Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16“ 40′ Pisces

The twenty-sixth lunar mansion is named Uttara Bhadrapada, which resides entirely in the constellation of Pisces, the fish. It consists of two stars, Pegasi and Andromedae, which form the remaining two legs of the bed combined with the stars of the previous nakshatra. Purva and Uttara Bhadrapada together form what is known in the West as the square of Pegasus which represents the bed or funeral cot. These two lunar mansions combined also depict the two-headed man discussed earlier in Purva Bhadrapada and which is symbolized by Agni, the fire … Continue reading

Purva Bhadrapada Nakshatra – 20″ 00′ Aquarius to 3° 20′ Pisces

The twenty-fifth nakshatra is named Purva Bhadrapada and is located primarily in the sign of Aquarius, with one pada in Pisces. It consists of two main stars (Markab and Scheat) in the body of Pegasus, the winged horse. The symbols for this lunar mansion include a sword, two front legs of a bed or funeral cot, or a two-faced man. Purva Bhadrapada translates as “the former lucky feet” or the “feet of a stool or bench.” This also refers to the deity of this nakshatra, which is Aja Ekapada, the … Continue reading

Satabhisha Nakshatra – 6° 40′ to 20° 00′ Aquarius

The twenty-fourth nakshatra is called Shatabhisha and resides in a large group of faint stars in the constellation of Aquarius, the Water-Bearer. The Water-Bearer is depicted as the “physician of the gods,” pouring the sacred pot containing the divine nectar of immortality’ Shatabhisha literally means “the hundred physicians” or “hundred healers.” It bestows gifts in the healing arts by pouring forth the cosmic waters from the Aquarius pitcher to nourish humanity. Shatabhisha is also known as a “hundred stars,” which reflects the regal, royal quality of this lunar mansion. It … Continue reading

Dhanishta Nakshatra – 23° 20′ Capricorn to 6° 40′ Aquarius

The twenty-third lunar mansion, Dhanishtha consists of a small group of four stars located in the head of Delphinus, the Dolphin. Half of the nakshatra resides in Capricorn the Sea-Goat and the remaining half in Aquarius the Water-Bearer. Dhanishtha is called “the star of symphony” with its symbol being a musical drum. The drum is Lord Shiva’s musical instrument of time, called a mridranga or tabla. Usually, a love of music and talent in singing or reciting chants can be observed here. There is great wealth as well as difficult marital karma found in … Continue reading

Shravana Nakshatra – 1O° 00′ to 23° 20′ Capricorn

The twenty-second nakshatra, Shravana, consists of three stars in the head of the eagle, Aquilla. The stars also form the three footprints of Vishnu, the deity of this nakshatra and preserver of the universe. Lord Vishnu helps us to perceive the truth of manifestation concealed by the world of maya or illusion. This asterism’s power is that of providing connection faamhanana shakti).’ Its natives can li’nk people together by connecting them to their appropriate paths in life. Shravana resides entirely within the sign of Capricorn and is ruled by the Moon. Called … Continue reading

Uttara Ashadha Nakshatra – 26° 40′ Sagittarius to 10° 00’ Capricorn

The twenty-first nakshatra is Uttara Ashadha, consisting of two stars in the breast of the Archer. Uttara Ashadha has one pada in Sagittarius and three in Capricorn. Ruled by the Sun, its symbol is an elephant’s tusk, reflecting Ganesha’s blessing on our activities. Another symbol is the planks of a bed, which symbolize the securing of rest and peace. Called the “universal star,” this asterism reflects deep humanitarian concern and fairness to all races. Abraham Lincoln had his natal Moon in this nakshatra. Uttara Ashadha is ruled by the Universal … Continue reading

Purva Ashadha Nakshatra – 13” 20′ to 26° 40′ Sagittarius

The twentieth nakshatra, Purva Ashadha resides entirely within the constellation of Sagittarius and consists of two stars (Kaus Borealis and Kaus Australis) which form the archer’s how. The stars were thought to look like a fan or winnowing hasket which is used for ridding corn of its husks. The ruling planet is Venus, reflecting the popularity (the person’s name is fanned around a lot) of this asterism. Jupiter rules the sign of Sagittarius which is connected with the elephant headed God, Ganesha. Purva Ashadha means “the undefeated” or “unsubdued” and … Continue reading

Mula Nakshatra – 0° 00’ to 13° 20′ Sagittarius

The nineteenth nakshatra, Mula represents the beginning of the last group of nakshatras, which reflect a sattwic or spiritual orientation. Mula translates as “the root” and is symbolized by a tied bunch of roots. It is also depicted as “the tail of a lion” and is located in a group of stars that form the scorpion’s tail. This star constellation is near the serpent holder or Ophiuchus which marks the galactic center. It marks the end of materialism and the beginning of spiritualization. Mula is also called the “root star,” “the original … Continue reading

Jyeshtha Nakshatra – 16° 40’ to 30° 00′ Scorpio

The eighteenth lunar mansion is Jyeshtha which contains the brilliant red star, Antares, which is located near the heart of the Scorpion. Antares literally means the rival of Mars, because they are often confused with each other. It is located in the sign of Scorpio which is also ruled by Mars. A combination of power, independence and a sense of danger are experienced here. Jyeshtha translates as the “chief’ star, “senioimosf’ or the “eldest.” Jyeshtha symbolizes that which has seniority in many ways; the oldest, the most powerful, the most … Continue reading