GHANTA-KARNA, GHANTAKANTA – Rakshasa (demonic) brothers

Ghanta and Karna were brothers in some sources, but the older rakshasa was called by both names, Ghantakanta, as the myths were about him. Ghanta’s myth was nested within several others and modified in sectarian versions com­peting over who was the supreme deity, Siva or Vishnu. Ghantakarna came into being because Siva had to create a terrible demon to correct a misuse of a boon that he had granted to Mandodari, wife of a demon named Daruka. The story goes like this: Daruka had done austerities (tapas) in order to … Continue reading

GANDHARVAS – A class of devas (gods)

This class of gods appeared first in the Vedic period. They were sky beings, asso­ciated with the preparation of soma. The Atharvaveda said that there were 6,333 gandharvas. They liked mortal women and sported with them, using their pow­ers to shape-shift and fool all but the most disciplined of wives. There were, however, a number of great heroines whose austerities (tapas) were a match for the magic powers (siddhis) of the gandharvas. In later mythology they were said to be children of the progenitor, or grandfather, named Kassyapa-prajapati, by his … Continue reading


These forces require a medium to flow. The primary medium is ‘air’ although they also use water as a medium to some extent. When we construct a building which may be a house, industry or business center we disturb the harmony which was prevailing earlier. We keep an entry and exit point thus allowing only two directional forces to enter. It is therefore very important where we keep them because if the door is such that the positive part of the force can gain entry then it will create a … Continue reading


1. Vaastu is a science of structures .It deals with the impact of various directional energies on a building when it is built and completed. The building which comes in the way of a free flow of directional forces creates an atmosphere inside it which is different from what prevails outside. 2. Each directional force is in dynamic balance. It is made up of a positive half and a negative half which have equal potential but opposite in characteristics just like that of a bar magnet with two poles of … Continue reading

Revati Nakshatra – 16 40′ to 30° 00′ Pisces

Revati Nakshatra

Revati Nakshatra – Pisces The final nakshatra, Revati, consists of thirty-two faint stars in the southern tail of Pisces, the fish. Being the last lunar mansion, Revati relates to endings, completion and the finality of time. Its symbol is a drum or mridanga which is used to mark time. Revati means “the wealthy” and is usually associated with abundance or prosperity on all levels. It is an auspicious star for spiritual growth and produces great intuitive gifts. The primary motivation of this asterism is moksha or spiritual liberation. It is also associated … Continue reading

Uttara Bhadrapada Nakshatra – 3° 20′ to 16“ 40′ Pisces

The twenty-sixth lunar mansion is named Uttara Bhadrapada, which resides entirely in the constellation of Pisces, the fish. It consists of two stars, Pegasi and Andromedae, which form the remaining two legs of the bed combined with the stars of the previous nakshatra. Purva and Uttara Bhadrapada together form what is known in the West as the square of Pegasus which represents the bed or funeral cot. These two lunar mansions combined also depict the two-headed man discussed earlier in Purva Bhadrapada and which is symbolized by Agni, the fire … Continue reading

Purva Bhadrapada Nakshatra – 20″ 00′ Aquarius to 3° 20′ Pisces

The twenty-fifth nakshatra is named Purva Bhadrapada and is located primarily in the sign of Aquarius, with one pada in Pisces. It consists of two main stars (Markab and Scheat) in the body of Pegasus, the winged horse. The symbols for this lunar mansion include a sword, two front legs of a bed or funeral cot, or a two-faced man. Purva Bhadrapada translates as “the former lucky feet” or the “feet of a stool or bench.” This also refers to the deity of this nakshatra, which is Aja Ekapada, the … Continue reading

Satabhisha Nakshatra – 6° 40′ to 20° 00′ Aquarius

The twenty-fourth nakshatra is called Shatabhisha and resides in a large group of faint stars in the constellation of Aquarius, the Water-Bearer. The Water-Bearer is depicted as the “physician of the gods,” pouring the sacred pot containing the divine nectar of immortality’ Shatabhisha literally means “the hundred physicians” or “hundred healers.” It bestows gifts in the healing arts by pouring forth the cosmic waters from the Aquarius pitcher to nourish humanity. Shatabhisha is also known as a “hundred stars,” which reflects the regal, royal quality of this lunar mansion. It … Continue reading

Dhanishta Nakshatra – 23° 20′ Capricorn to 6° 40′ Aquarius

The twenty-third lunar mansion, Dhanishtha consists of a small group of four stars located in the head of Delphinus, the Dolphin. Half of the nakshatra resides in Capricorn the Sea-Goat and the remaining half in Aquarius the Water-Bearer. Dhanishtha is called “the star of symphony” with its symbol being a musical drum. The drum is Lord Shiva’s musical instrument of time, called a mridranga or tabla. Usually, a love of music and talent in singing or reciting chants can be observed here. There is great wealth as well as difficult marital karma found in … Continue reading

Shravana Nakshatra – 1O° 00′ to 23° 20′ Capricorn

The twenty-second nakshatra, Shravana, consists of three stars in the head of the eagle, Aquilla. The stars also form the three footprints of Vishnu, the deity of this nakshatra and preserver of the universe. Lord Vishnu helps us to perceive the truth of manifestation concealed by the world of maya or illusion. This asterism’s power is that of providing connection faamhanana shakti).’ Its natives can li’nk people together by connecting them to their appropriate paths in life. Shravana resides entirely within the sign of Capricorn and is ruled by the Moon. Called … Continue reading